refuge.


I’ve been searching for refuge I might as well have been scratching through dustbins overflowing with waste

I looked for it in in the walls of churches, in the words of friends, in the beds of lovers, in the pages of books, in the sun, in the moon, in the burnt earth, in my birth home. 

And there were times I convinced myself that I had found it 

There were times there was more calm than storm

There were times when my heart lay still. 

But that wasn’t refuge

It was comfort

And now 

My spirit is presented

With the single reality

That the only refuge 

That will ever hold true through time

Is within myself. 

Leave a Reply

